In an RV down by the river.
member icon Member LOGIN

Remember me next time

Forgot password?

Home » News Room » News » RVIA Press Releases
Subscribe to RVIA's News Feed Go back to the press release list...

RVIA Honors Industry Leaders at Annual_Meeting

RVIA honored several industry leaders during its Annual Meeting, held March 1-4 on the Big Island of Hawaii, for their outstanding contributions to the association and the RV industry.

“It is an honor to recognize the personal successes of these outstanding people,” said Carl Pfalzgraf, RVIA chairman of the board. “It is through their dedication and commitment that our association and industry continue to grow and prosper.”

Distinguished Service to the RV Industry Award -- Recognized as the association's highest honor, the Distinguished Service to the RV Industry Award was presented to Bruce Hertzke of Winnebago Industries. The award recognizes those within the RV industry who set themselves apart by outstanding service.

“RVIA and the RV industry have benefited greatly from Bruce’s work on the RVIA Board of Directors, which includes two terms as chairman as well as service in every position on the Executive Committee,” said Pfalzgraf. “Under his leadership, the association worked aggressively to develop initiatives and programs to ensure the industry continued on a path of growth and prosperity.”

Pfalzgraf also pointed to Hertzke’s steady hand in leading RVIA through unprecedented change. “Bruce headed the search process that saw Richard Coon replace Dave Humphreys as president and shepherded a smooth transition that saw RVIA continue to operate in the same high manner,” he said.

“A consensus builder blessed with a keen intellect, a pragmatic outlook and the ability to offer insightful opinions, his influence on the industry has been positive and far-reaching,” Pfalzgraf continued.

The David J. Humphreys RV Industry Unity Award – Tom Stinnett of Tom Stinnett RV Freedom Center was named as the third recipient of the David J. Humphreys RV Industry Unity Award, established in honor of RVIA’s long-time RVIA president to recognize those who continuously strive to encourage the multiple constituencies of the RV industry to work collectively for the betterment of the industry. Dave Humphreys and Dave Altman were previous honorees.

Stinnett was recognized for his adept leadership in serving as a bridge between RV dealers, suppliers, and manufacturers, exemplified by the key role he played in rallying support behind the creation of the Go RVing program. Stinnett serves as Co-Chairman of the Go RVing Coalition and has held every position on RVDA’s Board of Directors, serving as chairman from 1995-1996.

“His professionalism, big picture outlook and respect for all have been instrumental in uniting and shaping our industry,” said Pfalzgraf. “Tom has always championed the need to be united as an industry, and he firmly believes that we must work to overcome differences and find common ground for the greater good of the industry.”

National Service Award -- The RV/MH Foundation Board of Directors, Staff and Volunteers were honored with the National Service Award, which is presented to individuals, companies and organizations outside the manufacturing segment who have contributed in an outstanding way to the industry.

Through the guidance of the RV/MH Foundation Board and the work of a small dedicated staff led by Carl Ehry and an army of committed volunteers, the Foundation succeeded spectacularly in creating the 80,000 square foot RV/MH Hall of Fame and Museum, dedicated last year.

“The Foundation set out to build a grand new home for the RV/MH Hall of Fame and Museum with the bold objective of paying for it in advance. They succeeded spectacularly!" said Pfalzgraf. “While the building’s architecture is striking, what’s even more important is what it houses…our past…our history... our treasures.”

National Scholastic Award – The National Scholastic Award, honoring state or regional association directors or institutions within the RV industry who have contributed to the advancement of technical training, was presented to Terry Cooper of the Texas State Technical College. He was recognized for his enthusiastic dedication, which is well known throughout the industry, to education and training at the state and national level.

“Terry’s commitment to RV service excellence extends beyond the classroom as he tirelessly takes part in RV industry education programs, activities helping to develop activities for existing service professionals, reviewing curriculum processes, and visiting schools across Texas promoting the career path to the next generation of technicians,” Pfalzgraf said. “Through his dedication and commitment, Terry is helping sustain the growth and prosperity of our industry by promoting the RV service technician career field and facilitating the certification credentialing."

RVIA also announced several other 2007 award winners who were unable to attend the Annual Meeting. They included: Jerome Hoover of Monaco Coach Corp. – Distinguished Service in RV Standards; Ed Lee of Marshall Gas Controls – National Education Service Award; and, Wade Thompson of Thor Industries – RVIA Special Award. They will receive their awards at RVIA’s Committee Week, taking place June 9-12 in Washington, D.C.

Category: RVIA

Go back to the press release list...

Copyright ©2018 All rights reserved...