RV Caucus Members Win Big On Election Night

Nov 4, 2020

Members of the House and Senate RV Caucuses, our industry’s champions on Capitol Hill, had a very good election night. Senate RV Caucus Co-Chair Senator Joni Ernst (R-IA) and House Caucus Co-Chairs Congresswomen Jackie Walorski (R-IN-2) and Dina Titus (D-NV-1) all won reelection, a significant victory for the RV industry which has benefited from their leadership on issues important to the RV industry including trade, tax, and campground modernization.

“Members of the House and Senate RV Caucuses represent members of the RV industry from across the country and serve as champions for legislative and regulatory RV industry issues,” said RV Industry Association Vice President of Government Affairs Jay Landers. “We are grateful to all of our champions for their steadfast support of the RV industry and congratulate the overwhelming majority of RV Caucus member who won their races.”

It was not only the leadership of the Caucuses that did well on election night. As of Wednesday afternoon, all but one of the 27 members of the House RV Caucus have been reelected to their seats. House Caucus member Rep. Jamie Herrera Beutler's (R-WA-3) race has yet to be called, but she is currently leading.

For the Senate RV Caucus, only Senator Doug Jones (D-AL), who was facing a very tough race, failed to win reelection. Additionally, Senator Gary Peters’ (D-MI) race has yet to be called. The four other Senate Caucus Members up for reelection this year, Senators Jeff Merkley (D-OR), Mike Rounds (R-SD), Tina Smith (D-MN) and Joni Ernst (R-IA), have been reelected. Eight additional members of the Senate RV Caucus were not up for reelection this year.

As the dust settles around the election results, the RV Industry Association government affairs team looks forward to reaching out and educating the new member of Congress about the all-American RV industry. The team will also be inviting new and returning Members of Congress to join the RV Caucuses, growing our bullpen of champions in 2021.